Promotion of Science and Technology, being the principal objective of our National Planning, The Government of India adopted the new scientific policy resolution on 4th March 1958 to give impetus to the movement throughout the country. One of the concrete steps of Kerala Government’s commitment in this direction was the establishment of the Unviersity of Cochin in 1971 for the specific purpose of the development of higher education with particular emphasis on post graduate studies and research in Applied Science, Technology, Industry and commerce.

The University of Cochin was later reorganized as Cochin University of Science and Technology (CUSAT) in February 1986. The University’s basic philosophy and goals find eloquent expression in its coat of arms emblazoning the moto “thejasvi nava dhitamastu” which in essence means may learning illumine us both (the teacher and the taught). Starting from 1996- 97 CUSAT became international in student admissions and faculty exchanges. It is strengthening contacts and collaborative tie ups with international universities and institutions and is in the path of growth as a global centre for generation of new knowledge in frontier areas of learning. CUSAT has entered into academic collaborations and exchange programmes with many notable institutions across USA, Europe, Russia, Japan, France, Korea etc.

Syndicate, Academic Council, Senate and the Boards of Studies in different faculties are the principal authorities of the University. Syndicate is the chief executive body which meets every month. The Academic structure comprises of 9 faculties viz. engineering, environmental studies, humanities, law, marine sciences, medical sciences and technology, science, social sciences and technology. A sophisticated test and instrumentation centre (STIC) was established in 1996 in collaboration with the government of Kerala. Centres also exist inter-disciplinary studies, micro processor research, national manpower information, rural development and appropriate technology, ocean electronics, science in society, information resource management, neuron science, creative writing, comparative literature, population studies, monsoon studies and economic policy and analysis.

The UGC has selected CUSAT as a Centre for Excellence in the field of lasers and opto electronic sciences for which a new centre (CELOS) has been established. The Union Ministry of HRD has acknowledged School of Legal Studies has a depository of intellectual property rights and a Chair has been introduced. In recognition of the academic excellence of CUSAT, the Union Ministry of Human Resource Development has instituted the prestigious Rajiv Gandhi Chair for contemporary studies during September 2005. By giving recognition to several well established premier research institutions in the country and the Southern Naval Command of Indian Navy, the University has brought within its reach the resources available in these institutions for the use of the academic community. Specialisations are available in almost all faculties/ departments for higher studies and research.

The Ministry of Human Resource Development, Government of India has recently listed CUSAT as an institution to be upgraded to the level of IIT. The ground works for achieving the IIT goal are in full swing. The University has a 180 acre campus at Thrikkakara and a lakeside campus at Kochi. Besides, an engineering college campus at Pulinkunnu, Alappuzha, the rise bowl of Kerala. The Lakeside Campus located in Ernakulam houses the Schools of Marine Sciences, Industrial fisheries and a men’s hostel. Located 15 km north of Ernakulam City, the main campus at Thrikkakara houses teaching and research departments, auxiliary institutions, hostels, guest houses, coffee house, visiting faculty complex, computer centre, central library, post office, bank, health centre, play grounds and courts and a gymnasium besides the main administrative building that reminds of the traditional Kerala architecture